Q) Can I get a copy of my accident report?
A) Yes, you need to pay a fee to the state and then print off a copy online (see links page).
Q) Does a Handgun Purchase Certificate allow me to carry a concealed firearm?
A) NO. A Handgun Purchase Certificate allows the purchase, lease, rent or transfer of firearms.
Q) How much does a Handgun Purchase Certificate cost?
A) The cost of the Handgun Purchase Certificate is $5.00 in the Sheriff’s Office. This fee is set by State statute. Picture identification is required at the time of application.
Q) How old do I need to be to apply for a Handgun Purchase Certificate?
A) You must be 21 years of age at the time of application.
Q) I purchased a new vehicle and it has an out-of-state title. Do I need to get it inspected prior to getting license plates?
A) Yes. You must bring your title and vehicle during the office hours of 8:30 A.M. and 4:30 P.M. to have it inspected.
Q) How much does it cost to have a title inspection done on my vehicle?
A) There is a $10.00 title inspection fee.
Q) What vehicles need inspected?
A) Any vehicle or motorcycle with an out-of-state title, any vehicle with a Salvage Certificate of Title, dump trucks, grain trailers, assembled trailers, livestock trailers & tractors that are not pro-rated, semi-trailers, boat trailers if pulled by a truck or a non-pro-rated tractor.
Q) How many points can I get on my driver's license?
A) In Nebraska, points are accumulated on your driver’s license for violations. You may not accumulate more than 2 points if you possess a provisionary operator’s license (POP). You may not accumulate 6 or more points during a one year period of time if you are under the age of 21. If you are 21 years of age or older, accumulating 12 points in a two-year period causes automatic revocation of the operator’s license for six months.
Q) How many points accumulate for a speeding violation?
A) Points are assessed for speeding to the basis of miles per hour over the posted speed limit and the type of road:
1 thru 5 MPH……..1 Point
6 thru 10 MPH……2 Points
11+ MPH………..3 Points
1 thru 10 MPH……..1 Point
11 thru 15 MPH……2 Points
16+ MPH………….3 Points
Violate child restraint 1 point
Refuse PBT 1 point
Negligent driving 3 points
Careless driving 4 points
Reckless driving 5 points
Willful reckless 6 points
DWI (alcohol or drugs) 6 points
Failure to report accident within 12 hrs. 8 points
3rd Offense DWI 12 points
Q) How long will the points stay on my driver’s license?
A) The points will stay on your driver’s license for 2 years from the date of the violation.
Q) Will it affect my Nebraska Driver’s License if I get a ticket for a traffic violation in another state?
A) Yes, just the same as if the violation was in Nebraska.
Q) What is the difference between a Sheriff's Office and a Sheriff's Department?
A) Black's Law Dictionary defines the terms as follows:
DEPARTMENT: "One of the major divisions of the executive branch of the government....generally, a branch or division of governmental administration."
OFFICE: "A right, and correspondent duty, to exercise public trust as an office. A public charge of employment... the most frequent occasions to use the word arise with reference to a duty and power conferred on an individual by the government, and when this is the connection, public office is a usual and more discriminating expression... in the constitutional sense, the term implies an authority to exercise some portion of the sovereign power either in making, executing, or administering the laws."
The Office of Sheriff is not simply another "department" of county government. The internal operation of an Office of Sheriff is the sole responsibility of the elected Sheriff. County department heads are subordinate to a county governing body, because a "department" is truly only a division of county government. The Office of Sheriff is a statutory/constitutional office having exclusive powers and authority under state law and/or state constitution. These inherent powers are not subject to the dictates of a local county governing body.
The Office of Sheriff has inherent common law powers and sovereignty granted under a state's constitution and/or state law. It is different from a county department which derives its limited authority from whatever is delegated to is by statute or by state constitution.
The use of the term "Department" implies being a subordinate unit of government (i.e. subordinate to local government - "delegated" authority from county government to a Department). The use of the term "Office" implies inherent powers and independent sovereignty.